MARCH 3-13, 2016#TOsketchfest


The Best of the Fest Award

The winning troupe will receive a television development deal with Bruce McCulloch of Kids in the Hall, and TOsketchfest, in partnership with Accent Entertainment (Young Drunk Punk, Take This Waltz).

This juried award offers an unprecedented benefit to participating troupes, and will be personally announced by Bruce McCulloch during the closing award show on Sunday, March 15 at The Theatre Centre.

Past Winners:

  • 2014 – BriKo (Chicago)
  • 2013 – She Said What (Toronto)
  • 2011 – Falcon Powder (Toronto)
  • 2010 – Falcon Powder (Toronto)
  • 2009 – Last Call Cleveland (Cleveland)
  • 2008 – Uncalled For (Montreal)
  • 2007 – The Dance Party of Newfoundland (St. John’s)
  • 2006 – Drop Six (New York)

NOW Magazine

NOW Audience Choice Award

Based on audience voting, the troupe with the highest per-capita number of votes wins! Here’s how it works:

  1. Audience members receive a ballot when they purchase their ticket. This gives them the opportunity to vote for one of the troupes on that bill.
  2. As they exit the theatre, they can vote for as many or as few troupes as they’d like from that show.
  3. The troupe with the highest per-capita number of votes wins The NOW Audience Choice Award.

Past Winners:

  • 2014 – Peter ‘n Chris (Vancouver)
  • 2013 – Deadpan Powerpoint (Toronto)
  • 2011 – Peter ‘n Chris (Vancouver)
  • 2010 – Deadpan Powerpoint (Toronto)
  • 2009 – Haircut (Toronto)
  • 2008 – Picnicface (Halifax)
  • 2007 – Kathleen Turner Overdrive (Toronto)
  • 2006 – FRENZY (Toronto)


Steam Whistle Brewing Co.

Steam Whistle Brewing Producers’ Pick Award

This award is chosen by the Festival producing team and is awarded to the troupe that best embodies the spirit of the Festival. They are dedicated to improving their game through professional development, they are great networkers, we had a great time getting to know them… and most of all, they made us laugh!

Past Winners:

  • 2014 – The Templeton Philharmonic (Toronto)
  • 2013 – The Rocket Scientists (Toronto)
  • 2011 – Vest of Friends (Toronto)
  • 2010 – Reverse Oreo (Toronto)
  • 2009 – Accidental Company (Toronto)
  • 2008 – Statutory Jape (Toronto)
  • 2007 – Shame is Right (Toronto)
  • 2006 – Ms. Chickaburns – (Toronto)

The Understudies Sketchiest Sketch Troupe Award

In honour of The Understudies (one of only two troupes to have performed in all of the first five years of TOSketchFest), SketchFest presented The Understudies Sketchiest Sketch Troupe Award.

The award is a peer-nominated award and is given to the troupe performing in this year’s Festival who “best embodies what sketch and sketch troupes are all about.” Troupes must be all-male, all-female or mixed gender. In honour of The Understudies, at least 3 members of the troupe must have erectile dysfunction.

SketchFest acts will nominate their favourites and The Understudies choose a winner to be announced on Saturday at the Steam Whistle Sketchubator. The 2010 cash prize was $138.41.

Past Winners:

  • 2014 – Parker & Seville (Toronto)
  • 2013 – Fratwurst (Toronto)
  • 2011 – Approximately 3 Peters (Toronto)
  • 2010 – Smells Like the 80s (Toronto)

Sketch Com-Ageddon

The Sketch Com-Ageddon Championship is awarded to the troupe who emerges as the victor in our five-night sketch comedy competition, held in June at Comedy Bar. The winning troupe receives a cash prize and automatic entry in the next Toronto Sketch Comedy Festival.

Past Winners:

  • 2014 – The Ladies of the Sketchersons (Toronto)
  • 2013 – Rulers of the Universe (Toronto)
  • 2012 – Rulers of the Universe (Toronto)
  • 2011 – The Hooligans (Brampton)
  • 2010 – Smells Like the 80s (Toronto)
  • 2009 – The Riot (Toronto)
  • 2008 – The Riot (Toronto)